I didn't notice this and it's already been saved + i made a bunch of other changes and bumped the version number correctly. I am trying to republish it to pypi, but I can't because 1.0.9 already exists (but its not the same). I have done this one before and deleted the dist folder for the overwritten version. Is that ok? Is there anyway to get around what I have done or is deleting it the only solution?
#๐ I accidentally overwrote my package's dist folder with the same version but a different version
16 messages ยท Page 1 of 1 (latest)
@steel zenith
Remember to:
- Ask your Python question, not if you can ask or if there's an expert who can help.
- Show a code sample as text (rather than a screenshot) and the error message, if you've got one.
- Explain what you expect to happen and what actually happens.
:warning: Do not pip install anything that isn't related to your question, especially if asked to over DMs.
Closes after a period of inactivity, or when you send !close.
I accidentally overwrote my package's dist folder with the same version but different contents
The dist folder's generated automatically isn't it? If so, I'd just delete it and remake it. And if the new contents are both different and correct, time to publish to PyPI with a new version number?
I am trying to republish it to pypi,
How are you doing this?
Once you've published, probably not.
But also, you can't publish to a version you've already published.
oh good to know. i thought it was supposed to be kept.
yeah i know you cant republish w/same version number, i just thought the dist folder was particularly important
Well I don't know your workflow, but i think of it as the preparation area for the uploads.
Yes
How using twine?
What's the actual command you're using?
No. It doesn't matter if you do, but if you upload v1.0.9 to PyPI, and then don't delete the files in that folder, and then tell twine to upload everything in that folder, it's going to try to upload 1.0.9 again and you're going to get that error.
There's no reason to keep them around after you upload them to PyPI, you can just delete the entire folder, and it'll be created again automatically the next time you build your package.
This help channel has been closed and it's no longer possible to send messages here. If your question wasn't answered, feel free to create a new post in #1035199133436354600. To maximize your chances of getting a response, check out this guide on asking good questions.